Kids Bike Size Chart

Start with your child’s height, then check their inseam against the specific model. The same wheel size can fit different children.

Age is context only. It never overrides height or inseam. Source units stay as published: some brands list inches, others centimeters.

Find a child’s bike

Child’s height (required)
Child’s inseam (optional)

Age is context only and never overrides height or inseam. Models without a published inseam range can appear as height-only matches.

Enter your child’s height to see matching models by wheel size.

Browse the published charts

Kids’ bike sizes by height, inseam and age

Each row keeps the model’s own published ranges. A blank source field becomes “Not published”; a blocked source becomes “Unverified” and cannot establish a measurement match.

These are captured model examples across markets. Specialized uses its Japan chart and Cannondale uses an EU model page. Trek’s sizing source could not be verified. Model years stay unknown where the source does not state one.

Prevelo’s pedal-bike height ranges are its model bounds for experienced riders; Alpha Zero uses its balance-bike bounds. Prevelo’s interactive recommendations also adjust for ability and trim overlapping ranges. Check Prevelo’s linked guide for a child learning to pedal; these charts preserve the published model values.

12-inch wheels

12-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom GO 1Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specificationsBalance bike31–40 in10–14.4 in1.5 – 3.5 years
Prevelo Alpha ZeroUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Balance bike33–43 in12.5–16.5 in~ 1½ +
Cannondale Kids Trail 12C51402U; model year not stated · EU / EnglishModel year: not stated. Checked .Building skill & learning to pedal94–107 cmNot publishedNot published

14-inch wheels

14-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom GO 2Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications37–43 in16–19.1 in3 – 4.5 years
Prevelo Alpha OneUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.35–44.5 in14–17.5 in~ 3 to 5
Prevelo Zulu OneUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.36.5–43 in14–17 in~ 3 to 5

16-inch wheels

16-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom GO 3Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications41–47 in19.1–25.2 in4 – 6 years
Prevelo Alpha TwoUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.38–44.5 in15.5–22 in~ 4 to 6
Prevelo Zulu TwoUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.39.5–54.5 in16–22 in~ 4 to 6
Specialized Jett 162023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .95–121 cmNot publishedNot published
Specialized Riprock 162023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .94–107 cmNot publishedNot published

20-inch wheels

20-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom GO 4Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications45–51 in22.1–27.9 in6 – 8 years
Prevelo Alpha ThreeUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.42.5–52.5 in19–23 in~ 5 to 9
Prevelo Zulu ThreeUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.45–58 in20–26 in~ 5½ to 9
Giant STP 20Undated STP guide · GlobalModel year: not stated. Checked .Mountain bike115–130 cm50–61 cmNot published
Specialized Jett 202023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .102–132 cmNot publishedNot published
Specialized Riprock 202023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .107–132 cmNot publishedNot published
Trek Precaliber 20 7-SpeedProduct 36268; sizing unavailable · USModel year: unverified. Checked .UnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified

24-inch wheels

24-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom EXPLORE 5Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications49–57 in26.4–32.3 in7 – 11 years
Prevelo Alpha FourUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.49.5–59.5 in23–28 in~ 7 to 11
Prevelo Zulu FourUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.48.5–60.5 in23–29 in~ 8 to 11
Giant STP 24Undated STP guide · GlobalModel year: not stated. Checked .Mountain bike125–145 cm59–74 cmNot published
Specialized Jett 242023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .109–147 cmNot publishedNot published
Specialized Riprock 242023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .114–142 cmNot publishedNot published

26-inch wheels

26-inch kids’ bikes: published rider ranges
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)
woom EXPLORE 6Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications55–65 in29.5–37.4 in10 – 14 years
Prevelo Alpha FiveUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.53.5–64.5 in25–30 in~ 9 to 13
Prevelo Zulu FiveUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.54–66 in26.5–31 in~ 9 to 13
Giant STP 26 RegularUndated STP guide · GlobalModel year: not stated. Checked .Mountain bike140–160 cm65–83 cmNot published
Giant STP 26 LargeUndated STP guide · GlobalModel year: not stated. Checked .Mountain bike155–170 cm70–88 cmNot published

Same 20-inch, different fit

Compare the child measurements each model lists, even though the wheels share a diameter. Saddle height and standover describe the bike; they are separate from a recommended rider inseam.

Same wheel diameter: model-specific height, inseam and published geometry
Model / sourceChild heightChild inseamAge (context only)Saddle heightStandover
woom GO 4Undated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Model specifications45–51 in22.1–27.9 in6 – 8 years22.4–28.7 in19.3 in
Prevelo Alpha ThreeUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Streets, paved paths and light trails; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.42.5–52.5 in19–23 in~ 5 to 921.2 minimum inNot published
Prevelo Zulu ThreeUndated model sizing · USModel year: not stated. Checked .Trails and mountain biking; beginner to advanced ridersPrevelo’s model bounds for experienced pedal-bike riders; check Prevelo’s guide for learning-to-ride adjustments.45–58 in20–26 in~ 5½ to 921.7 minimum inNot published
Giant STP 20Undated STP guide · GlobalModel year: not stated. Checked .Mountain bike115–130 cm50–61 cmNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Specialized Jett 202023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .102–132 cmNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Specialized Riprock 202023 bike size chart; model year not stated · JapanModel year: not stated. Checked .107–132 cmNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedNot published
Trek Precaliber 20 7-SpeedProduct 36268; sizing unavailable · USModel year: unverified. Checked .UnverifiedUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverifiedUnverified

A minimum saddle height is shown as a minimum, without an invented upper limit. Missing geometry stays missing. All measurements and source dates in this comparison come from the captured model data.

How to measure a child’s height and inseam

For height, have your child stand upright against a wall. Place a level book on their head, mark the wall and measure from the floor. For inseam, hold the book firmly between their legs like a saddle and measure from the floor to the top edge.

Follow the brand’s footwear instructions. Woom’s US guide and Giant’s STP guide ask for riding shoes when measuring inseam. Use a measured leg length, not a clothing size.

See the illustrated height and inseam measuring guides for the book-and-wall method.

Wheel size is not a frame size

A kids’ bike wheel label describes wheel diameter. It does not tell you saddle height, standover or how far the bars sit from the rider. Guardian’s sizing guide explains why different frames with the same wheel size can fit differently.

Keep the model, version and market with every size comparison. Use the brand’s rider ranges first, then check the actual bike’s adjustment range and controls.

When to size up

Choose a bike your child can control today. Giant advises against buying a bike that is too large for a child to grow into. Overlapping chart ranges give you models to try, without making the larger one the automatic choice.

Our guidance: consider moving up when the current model’s published range no longer fits your child, then check the next model’s height and inseam ranges. Have your child try starting, stopping and reaching the brakes. A birthday alone does not establish fit.

Balance bike vs pedal bike

A balance bike has no pedals. Guardian describes it as a way to learn balance before pedaling. Use the bike’s own sizing and setup guidance; the wheel label alone cannot decide whether a child is ready for pedals.

Prevelo distinguishes learning to pedal from already riding independently. Its recommendations account for experience as well as leg length. Check that guidance when comparing a first pedal bike with a model intended for a confident rider.

Sources and checked dates

Each model row links to its official source and shows when it was checked. No height or inseam range is inferred from wheel size, age, saddle height or another brand. The finder includes published endpoints and keeps every overlap. With an inseam entered, models with a published range must match both measurements; models without one are labeled as height-only matches.

Kids’ data coverage and methodology · Report a sizing-data issue